How we are run

Lee Valley Regional Park Authority (the Authority) is a statutory body responsible for managing and developing the 26 mile long, 10,000 acre linear Lee Valley Regional Park (Regional Park) - the only regional park serving London, Hertfordshire and Essex.

The Authority has a broad and dynamic remit with a duty to develop and preserve leisure, recreation, sport and nature throughout the park..

The Authority is playing a key role in delivering an enduring legacy from the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. It owns  London 2012 venues: Lee Valley VeloPark and Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre, on Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and Lee Valley White Water Centre in Waltham Cross, Hertfordshire. All three attract visitors and participants from every London borough and from across Essex and Hertfordshire as well as the rest of the UK and stage international and community sports events.

The Authority is also responsible for regenerating derelict and neglected land into high quality public open spaces and wildlife habitats of ecological importance, as well as preserving the region’s historical value.




The Lee Valley Regional Park Authority (the Authority) has an appointed board of 28 Members. The Members are elected and nominated to this Authority by their own constituent Authorities
20 of the Members are from the riparian authorities (those whose borders are crossed by the Lee Valley Regional Park boundaries) and is made up as follows:
  • 4 Members each from Essex and Hertfordshire County Councils (8)
  • 2 Members each from Broxbourne Borough Council, East Herts District Council and Epping Forest District Council (6)
  • 1 Member each from the London Boroughs of Enfield, Hackney, Haringey, Newham, Tower Hamlets and Waltham Forest (6)
A further 8 Members are appointed through London Councils (formerly known as the Association of London Government) to represent all of the remaining 27 non-riparian London Boroughs.

In addition, the Authority also has 2 co-opted Members, 1 from Canal & River Trust and 1 from the Environment Agency.
Appointments are for a 4-year term of office. The current term of office for all Members ends on 30 June 2021.
Cookies are used on this website to ensure that we give you the best experience possible.
By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. Information on our use of cookies.